NaNoWriMo: 10K MARK PASSED!

Yes, it’s four days into NaNoWriMo and I’ve managed to supress my first major goal of writing 10,000 words. That’s the same length as my undergraduate dissertation, though in admittedly far less time than it took me to finish that!

Passing 10k has made me think that this isn’t such an impossible task. Thankfully, I was ahead on most of my assignments for university though now I’m beginning a new job the juggling might get a bit more stressful. Since I’m currently also beginning my dissertation for my masters (15,000 words is nothing!) it’s likely to become more about organisation and motivation than I’d like to admit.

Today, as I was writing my fifth chapter or so I suddenly had another plot twist conjure up. I think that’s the best thing about writing, the fact that the characters can just take the story on themselves- and even though I already have the final chapter planned out, I can easily imagine that will change dramatically within the next 40,000 words. Thankfully, I’m terrible at planning stories so it won’t be changing much.

So, what’s happened so far?

Well, my main character is a 70 year old woman. She’s called Elizabeth and she’s very particular about manners and moans a lot about the ‘youth of today’… yes, she’s one of those. She has no family, she lost her parents very young and lives in a small town where she is popularly known as ‘Ms Kay’. She’s lonely, yes, but she’s not a sad old woman though she may have her moments. She thrives on her independence. Well, unless that damn hip pain flares up again…

But then there’s Adam Sampson. Adam, the huge giant who spends most of his time in his local pub, The Parrot. They all love him there, but Elizabeth doesn’t. He’s going to walk in and completely turn her world upside down. He, quite mistakenly of course, believes that she is his older sister who was kidnapped a decade before he was born.

Well, it’s an easy mistake of course.

But how would you react if someone that you have never met, a complete stranger, walked up to you and told you that you had been kidnapped about 60 years previously?

That’s about as far as I’ve gotten so far, and the majority of the story will be based around the kidnapping and Elizabeth’s reaction to this Adam Sampson… Personally, seeing what kind of character she is turning out to be, I can tell Adam has one hell of a job on his hands. But it gets even more personal for Elizabeth on a completely different note.

Let’s just say, Elizabeth Kay is in for quite an emotional year!

So I’m just going to keep writing, hopefully sticking to the vague framework of a plot that I’ve written for myself. But I guess we’ll see what happens. On the other hand, you might never hear about this again and I’ll simply get on with my assignments and manage to pass my degree before heading back off to America.

Who knows?

6 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo: 10K MARK PASSED!

  1. I just made an audible “Hm!”
    That’s a pretty intriguing story so far… It reminds me of a book I read a couple years ago, I think it was called “The Book Thief.”
    Good luck with the writing, I like what you’ve got so far.

Leave a Reply

