How things change…

Something weird happened to me last night. Well, not so weird as idiotic. But I decided to message my ex-boyfriend through Facebook. Yes, this is the same ex I’ve mentioned previously, and ever since that post I’ve been debating with myself about whether or not I should get in touch with him. The fact I spent so long arguing with myself probably caused me more hours of stress than if I’d messaged him straight away in all honesty!

But don’t get your hopes up, I wasn’t emailing him to rekindle our romance or a friendship or anything. I needed to clear up a few things I’d heard.

It was this though that made me think how much things change, even in a short period of time. The two and a half years I’ve spent not talking to him is longer than the time we actually spent together- and it’s probably nearing the amount of time we knew each other. Yet, if we were to talk now I don’t see that we would gel in the same way. Both of us have gone down completely different paths to when we were 16.

And that’s in just over 24 months!

Similarly, in work the other day we were discussing the changes within the pharmacy industry. For me, I began working in pharmacy when I was 17, and since then I’ve spent around three years in employment at one pharmacy or another. My biggest issue was the discontinuation of Rinstead pastilles, but there were several items that have been taken off the shelves since I began. Turn to my colleagues  who have 9-26 years experience in pharmacy each and they’ve all got their own stories to tell. I always thought the biggest changes were during Victorian ages… Apparently pharmacists were creating their own remedies as little as a couple of decades ago!

Looking more personally, the biggest change in my own life in recent years is my friendships. People I would talk to everyday have gradually become people I will ignore in the street. People I’ve known from a couple of months ago have suddenly become my closest friends, through the oddest situations. Me and a friend were actually discussing this the other day, when we realised we only knew each other because we both happened to turn up at the door to a mutual friend’s house party at the same time.

And yet, people I gradually became “best friends” with over the course of primary and secondary school seem to be living on another planet.

It’s slightly scary in all honesty, that your life can completely change without you realising. Students targeting university will most likely find themselves in graduate careers that didn’t exist while they were making their GCSE and A Level subject choices. Graduates now are finding themselves stranded for the very same reason, they trained themselves for a specific position which no longer exists or is slowly dying out. You may graduate and those three years of study have in fact put you off that career.

But it’s human nature to adapt, which is my reasoning for not feeling a sense of loss over my past. We retrain, we go back to school, we move house or attempt to build back up on what we lost from a new perspective. I guess it’s part of our survival technique. Though I know many who need to look into working on that!

Leave a Reply

