That Mood when… Well, you don’t even know!

So it’s been a crazy few days… fortnight since I last posted. Of course, my last post was about my success in my personal exile from Facebook. Looking back, that was a blissful seven days compared to the last fortnight. And the worst thing is, most of my dramas have come down to the hassle of social media as well but let’s not dwell on that.

America

I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned this already but I’m heading off to America. I’m going through a company called USA Summer Camps, which is part of Camp Leaders. Yes, before you ask, this is similar to Camp America but they are a seperate company.

So the other day I finally got my flight details confirmed: I fly from Manchester on the 30th May to New York! It’s just over seven hours, so not only will it be the furthest I’ve ever travelled, the longest I’ve spent away from home, but also the longest I’ve ever spent on a plane- and most likely the biggest plane too. So plenty of firsts there! Ironically, I’m just under 11 weeks away from leaving which is actually a week and a half less than how long I’ll actually be staying in America for. Not that’s a scary thought.

But back to the present, today I’m going to a “Prep Day” organised by Camp Leaders. It’s in Manchester this morning so I’m about to go for the train… Well, in a couple of hours. According to Google Maps, I’ll only need to walk 10 minutes before I reach it so let’s cross our fingers I don’t get too lost (directionally-challenged doesn’t quite covered my problems with getting lost!) At the minute I have no idea what to expect besides camp songs, and learning about everything you’ll generally need to know about camp. Since it lasts seven hours I imagine there’ll be a lot! That’s a bit scary too… But, of course, it all adds to the excitement in the end!

After this I have my Visa interview next month and then I’ll be in the final countdown. Wow, 11 weeks actually isn’t that long!

University

Apart from America, I also have to organise myself with university. Work, assignments, dissertations and post graduate applications… Everything really does pile up. We’ve just had the final warning for our last drafts to be in in just under a fortnight. I need to pull 4,000 words out of thin air (yes, I am over half way through before you start thinking I’ve yet to start) as well as completing my other essays. Easter’s coming up though so that’ll be two weeks of work and assignments.

Hence why I’m in the library at half 5 on a Saturday morning!

Fingers crossed.

Leave a Reply

